Tags

, , ,

All Over the Place

All Over the Place

An interesting month. I started a course “Finding Your Photographic Voice” with Otto von Munchow which goes for 8 weeks and am finding the weekly assignments challenging and helpful.

The beginning of February saw me returning from a fantastic photography trip to King Island, then after 2 weeks at home I drove to Coolum Beach (again) for a few days before flying to Sydney to help a friend move interstate. I left my car at the airport so that when the move is finished I can pick it up and just drive home. The few days at Coolum Beach helped me obtain the best wave shots I think I’ve ever taken, plus some interesting surfer shots.

A friend sold her home in Sydney and is moving to Maleny in Queensland a distance of approx. 1000km. She is not comfortable driving long distances and asked me if I would like to drive her and her car to the new place. Of course I said yes, she and I have a lovely relationship, in that when we do get together we pick up just where we left off last time we met. So after an uneventful but long drive from Sydney the removalists arrive in Maleny today and my friend begins a new life in this beautiful sub-tropical place.

Again more cupboards emptied and the stuff moved on, believe it or not I’ve still more cupboards of fabric to sort through, it seems never ending! Seeing my friend move has made me so much more aware of the cost involved in moving stuff, particularly extraneous stuff that I no longer need or want. Why keep moving it on the off chance that I might one day need/want it? I can feel a heavy editing of my ‘stuff’ when I get back home. Still no buyers for the property, but I’m hopeful that it will happen soon.

Another short trip planned for March, so come back on the first Friday next month to see what I’ve been up to and where this journey is taking me.

