Tags

, ,

A glorious little pink cloud reflecting the sunset on the same evening as the two previous posts. Every part of the sky seemed to be trying to outdo the others tht night.

A glorious little pink cloud reflecting the sunset on the same evening as the two previous posts. Every part of the sky seemed to be trying to outdo the others that night.

January has been HOT, one of the hottest I can remember. Many days over 40C and until mid-January – no rain. Then some good rain, but we could do with more, and now I’m watching the grass grow like crazy.

I try not to travel in Jan. because it is the major holiday time in Australia when many people take their 3-4 weeks annual leave (it is 5 weeks of school holidays too) and all head to the coast somewhere. Traffic is bad as many of these people only drive long distances at this time of the year and the traffic tends to hang up easily.

Anyway, I drove to Maleny, Q. for a couple of days to catch up with a friend and managed to miss the worst traffic. Then down to Sydney for a quick weekend for my grandson’s 10th birthday. You only change into double figures once in your lifetime – so a momentous occasion.

Lots of the usual mowing (now the grass/weeds are growing), brushcutting and weeding, etc. outside in the early mornings before the heat and then time spent on the computer learning more Photoshop and trying hard to cull more of my photos. Then when the computer gets too hot, I’d generally take that as a tip to find a cooler place at the other side of the house and read or sleep until evening. I don’t have AirCon. only ceiling fans and on these 40+ days (that’s 104F) it gets quite hot inside even though I shut the house up – lord knows what the temperature gets to outside in the sun. I’m just thankful I don’t have the other property to maintain as well now.

So a fairly laid back January. But starting tomorrow 4th Feb. I drive to Brisbane to start a trip to Japan for 4 weeks with World Photo Adventures my favourite photo tour people. As I’ve rarely been to SE Asia and it was a long time ago, and never been to Japan I’m looking forward to this trip immensely. It will be COLD, very COLD as temps in Hokkiado are around -14 to -2 each day on average, a big difference to home right now.

I will try and post in Japan though it may be a bit haphazard as I’m not sure where we’ll get internet particularly on Hokkiado.

As usual I welcome any thoughts or comments on this my journey to change my life and all the challenges that brings. Come back on the first Friday next month to see what I’ve been doing (in Japan all that time actually 🙂  and whether the house block has sold and where I’m headed to next.

